Angela Bofill - I Try   The Anthology 1978-1993

Angela Bofill - I Try The Anthology 1978-1993

  • Merk:
  • EAN code: 5013929085732

van € 21.99
voor € 18.99

Angela Bofill - I Try   The Anthology 1978-1993.

• SoulMusic Records is very proud to present “I Try: The Anthology, 1978-1993,” a 2-CD set of charted singles, key album cuts and guest appearances from the inimitable singer/songwriter Angela Bofill, spanning the most prominent period of her recording career. 

• A native New Yorker, Angela became the second artist signed to GRP Records, formed by producers Dave Grusin and Larry Rosen in 1978:  her debut LP, “Angie” heralded the arrival of one of the mainstay ‘voices’ in the burgeoning ‘quiet storm’ radio format in the US thanks to tracks such as ‘Under The Moon And Over The Sky’ and ‘This Time I’ll Be Sweeter’, the first of a dozen charted singles included on this first-of-its-kind anthology of Angela’s much-loved work. 

• Angela’s sophomore album, “Angel Of The Night” proved even more successful thanks to the title track and the now-timeless classic ‘I Try’, both staples of Angela’s live repertoire.  Switching to Arista Records in 1981, Angela began working with label chief Clive Davis, resulting in another five best-selling albums from which came her biggest charted hits, including ‘Too Tough’ and ‘Tonight I Give In’.  

• This sumptuous 2-CD lovingly compiled by SoulMusic Records’ founder David Nathan (who began conducting interviews with Angela after the release of her debut LP) includes a number of rare tracks such as ‘All The Reasons Why’, ‘Love & Marriage’, ‘Love Light’ and ‘Rhythm Of Your Mind’, all of which were first released between 2002-2007.  In addition, the anthology features five stellar guest appearances with artists such as Narada Michael Walden (who produced three of Angie’s Arista albums), Johnny Mathis, Carl Anderson, Stanley Clarke, Marian Meadows and Kirk Whalum; and tracks from Angela’s one-off 1993 LP for Jive Records including the title track, ‘I Wanna Love Somebody’.

• The superb music on this anthology is augmented by stellar liner notes from renowned US writer, A. Scott Galloway who has included extensive quotes from Angela herself along with comments by producers, songwriters and musicians including Walden, Mic Murphy & David Frank, Preston Glass, Kirk Whalum, Buddy Williams, Eve Nelson, Derek Bramble and others.

Disc One: Holdin’ Out For Love

1.  Too Tough (Long Version) 6:35
2.  Can't Slow Down (Extended Remix Version) 5:54
3.  Special Delivery (Single Edit) 4:41
4.  Holdin' Out For Love 3:21
5.  Baby, I Need Your Love 4:10
6.  What I Wouldn't Do (For The Love Of You) 3:28
7.  Something About You 4:02
8.  Love Was Never - Marion Meadows Featuring Angela Bofill & Gene Rice 4:59
9.  Ain't Nothing Like The Real Thing (Duet With Boz Scaggs) 3:06
10. Is This A Dream 5:10
11. Never Wanna Be Without Your Love - Narada 
      Michael Walden Featuring Angela Bofill 3:54
12. Love & Marriage 4:00
13. All The Reasons Why 5:12
14. Love Light  3:54
15. Under The Moon And Over The Sky 5:41
16. Angel Of The Night 5:01
17. Rhythm Of Your Mind 3:25

Disc Two: Heavenly Love

1.  I Wanna Love Somebody (Single Edit) 4:21
2.  Tonight I Give In 3:28
3.  Let Me Be The One 3:23
4.  A Woman In Love - Carl Anderson Featuring Angela  Bofill 4:44
5.  You're A Special Part Of Me - Johnny Mathis 
     Featuring Angela Bofill 4:11
6.  I'm On Your Side 5:04
7.  This Time I'll Be Sweeter (Single Edit) 3:38
8.  Still In Love 4:56
9.  I Try 5:35
10. Where Do We Go - Stanley Clarke Featuring Angela  Bofill 4:03
11. Tell Me Tomorrow  4:35
12. Break It To Me Gently 3:51
13. Time To Say Goodbye 5:18
14. Always A Part Of Me - Kirk Whalum Featuring   Angela Bofill 5:09
15. Song For A rainy Day 3:37
16. No Love In Sight 3:24
17. Heavenly :ove 5:11

Label : Soul Music records
SMCR 5157D
Barcode : 5013929085732

If you want to order this great album and live outise the Netherlands, no problem.
We shipped worldwide en paypments can be done isn $, GBP & Euro by Paypal.
Ask for the right post & shipping amount.
Send e-mail to

  • Angela Bofill - I Try   The Anthology 1978-1993