Carla Thomas - Let Me Be Good To You – The Atlantic & Stax Recordings (1960-1968), 4CD Box Set

Carla Thomas - Let Me Be Good To You – The Atlantic & Stax Recordings (1960-1968), 4CD Box Set

  • Merk:
  • EAN code: 5013929089600

€ 26.99

Carla Thomas - Let Me Be Good To You – The Atlantic & Stax Recordings (1960-1968), 4CD Box Set.

SoulMusic Records is proud to present a first-of-its-kind complete collection of all of the Atlantic and Stax recordings by Carla Thomas, released between 1960-1968. With a total of 94 tracks, “Let Me Be Good To You” celebrates ‘The First Lady Of Stax Records’ whose 1961 classic hit ‘Gee Whiz (Look At His Eyes)’ led to the Memphis-based label’s distribution with Atlantic Records. Sequenced by session, the deluxe 4-CD set includes tracks from Carla’s four solo albums, plus the famed 1967 “King & Queen” LP of duets with the late Otis Redding. The ‘A’ and ‘B’ sides of all of Carla’s singles – including (28) non-album tracks – are featured including Carla’s duets with her famous father, Rufus Thomas, along with five live recordings from Carla’s 1967 performances in London and Paris with the famed Stax/Volt Revue.

Produced by SoulMusic Records founder David Nathan, “Let Me Be Good To You – The Atlantic & Stax Recordings (1960-1968)” boasts a stellar 8,000-word extensive essay by renowned UK writer Charles Waring with 2020 quotes from Stax executive Al Bell, famed songwriter/producer David Porter, Carla’s sister Vaneese (a recording artist in her own right) and former Stax publicist and songwriter Deanie Parker and others. Superb mastering by Nick Robbins and first class artwork by Roger Williams make this 4-CD set a full documentation of Carla Thomas’ pioneering contribution to soul music, as Stax Records’ primary female hitmaker for the label’s groundbreaking first eight years.

• Disc One: A LOVE OF MY OWN covers Carla’s first recordings for Satellite Records which morphed into Stax Records in 1961, including duets with her father Rufus Thomas, her debut LP, “Gee Whiz” and various non-album singles such as ‘I’ll Bring It On Home To You’, Carla’s ‘answer’ song to Sam Cooke’s 1962 hit.

• Disc Two: EVERY OUNCE OF STRENGTH includes Carla’s second LP, “Comfort Me” alongside deep soul classics ‘How Do You Quit (Someone You Love)’, ‘Stop! Look What You’re Doing’ and ‘What Have You Got To Offer Me’ and her major 1966 hits, ‘Let Me Be Good To You’ and ‘B-A-B-Y’, both co-written and produced by Isaac Hayes & David Porter.

• Disc Three: SOMETHING GOOD (IS GOING TO HAPPEN TO YOU) features the 1966 LP “Carla” plus the eleven tracks from 1967’s globally-successful “King & Queen” LP pairing Carla with Otis Redding, the label’s then-primary hitmaker including duet covers of ‘Tramp’ and Eddie Floyd’s ‘Knock On Wood’.

• Disc Four: I TAKE IT TO MY BABY opens with five recordings culled from Carla’s live performances as part of the much-acclaimed Stax/Volt Revue tour of Europe and continues with Carla’s LP “The Queen Alone” as well as the tracks from her last sessions with Stax at the end of the label’s distribution pact with Atlantic including 1967’s ‘Pick Up The Pieces’ and 1968’s ‘A Dime A Dozen’.

Cd 1 : A Love Of My Own

1. ‘Cause I Love You – Carla & Rufus
2. Down Deep Inside – Carla & Rufus
3. Gee Whiz, Look At His Eyes
4. For You
5. I Didn’t Believe – Rufus & Friend
6. Yeah, Ye-Ah – Rufus & Friend
7. A Love Of My Own
8. Promises
9. Your Love
10. It Ain’t Me
11. In Your Spare Time (Please Think Of Me)
12. Fools Fall In Love
13. The Masquerade Is Over
14. (This Is) A Lovely Way To Spend An Evening
15. To The Aisle
16. Dance With Me
17. The Love We Shared
18. (Mama, Mama) Wish Me Good Luck
19. I Kinda Think He Does
20. I Can’t Take It
21. I’ll Bring It Home To You
22. The Puppet
23. What A Fool I’ve Been
24. The Life I Live
25. All I Want For Christmas Is You
26. Gee Whiz, It’s Christmas

CD 2 : Every Ounce Of Strength

1. Night Time Is The Right Time –
Rufus & Carla Thomas
2. That’s Really – Rufus & Carla Thomas
3. I’ve Got No Time To Lose
4. A Boy Named Tom
5. A Woman’s Love
6. Don’t Let The Love Light Leave
7. How Do You Quit (Someone You Love)
8. Stop! Look What You’re Doing
9. Every Ounce Of Strength
10. When You Move You Lose –
Rufus & Carla Thomas
11. We’re Tight – Rufus & Carla Thomas
12. Yes, I’m Ready
13. Let It Be Me
14. Move On Drifter
15. Forever
16. What The World Needs Now
17. I’m For You
18. Will You Love Me Tomorrow
19. Lover’s Concerto
20. Another Night Without My Man
21. Comfort Me
22. Birds & Bees – Rufus & Carla Thomas
23. Never Let You Go – Rufus & Carla Thomas
24. Let Me Be Good To You
25. B-A-B-Y
26. What Have You Got To Offer Me

CD 3 : Something Good (Is Going To Happen To You)

1. Red Rooster
2. I Got You Boy
3. Medley: Baby What You Want Me To Do /
For Your Love
4. I’m So Lonesome I Could Cry
5. I Fall To Pieces
6. You Don’t Have To Say You Love Me
7. Fate
8. Looking Back
9. All I Want For Christmas Is You (1966)
10. Winter Snow
11. Something Good
(Is Going To Happen To You)
12. It’s Starting To Grow
(Otis & Carla)
13. Knock On Wood
14. Let Me Be Good To You
15. Tramp
16. Tell It Like It Is
17. When Something Is Wrong With My Baby
18. Lovey Dovey
19. New Year’s Resolution
20. Bring It On Home To Me
21. Are You Lonely For Me Baby
22. It Takes Two
23. Ooh Carla, Ooh Otis

CD 4 : I Take It To My Baby

1. I Got My Mojo Working (Live In Paris)
2. Let Me Be Good To You (Live In Paris)
3. Gee Whiz, Look At His Eyes (Live In Paris)
4. Yesterday (Live In London)
5. B-A-B-Y (Live In London)
6. When Tomorrow Comes
7. Unchanging Love
8. Any Day Now
9. Stop Thief
10. I Take It To My Baby
11. I Want To Be Your Baby
12. Give Me Enough (To Keep Me Going)
13. Lie To Keep Me From Crying
14. I’ll Always Have Faith In You
15. All I See Is You
16. Pick Up The Pieces
17. Separation
18. A Dime A Dozen
19. I Want You Back

Label : SoulMusic Records - QSMCR5196BX
Barcode : 5013929089600

If you want to order this great album and live outise the Netherlands, no problem.
We shipped worldwide en paypments can be done isn $, GBP & Euro by Paypal.
Ask for the right post & shipping amount.

Send e-mail to

  • Carla Thomas - Let Me Be Good To You – The Atlantic & Stax Recordings (1960-1968), 4CD Box Set