Carol Williams & The Salsoul Orchestra - 'Lectric Lady BBR 236

  • Merk:
  • EAN code: 5013929053632

€ 19.99

Carol Williams & The Salsoul Orchestra - 'Lectric Lady BBR 236.

CAROL WILLIAMS, from Montclair, New Jersey, was the first female
singer to sign a solo recording contract with the legendary disco
label Salsoul Records. With Williams vocal audition trumping all
other hopefuls, allied with her extensive experience in the
industry due to being an integral member of soul groups The
Geminis and The Del-Rios, she was the obvious choice for the label
who were looking for their equivalent of Gloria Gaynor who was
riding high at the time with the success of her disco smash “Never
Can Say Goodbye.”

Williams soon got to work with legendary producer and multiinstrumentalist
Vincent Montana, Jr. and his incredible Salsoul
Orchestra, contributing not only several track selections but also
co-writing three of the cuts on her debut offering.

'LECTRIC LADY was released in 1976 where we find The Salsoul
Orchestra at the peak of their musical powers delivering rich
musicianship with their trademark propulsive, percussive grooves,
and came hot on the heels of the success of the first single from
the album, “More.” Regarded as an early disco classic “More,” a
cover of a Kai Winding song, set pulses racing on the dance floors
catapulting this smooth and lushly orchestrated track, which builds
the tension to its climax, to a peak of #4 on the U.S. disco charts,
paving the way for the album’s release. Follow up singles “Come
Back” and “Love Is You” solidified Williams dance floor credentials
with the latter being considered a club classic and inspiring Italian
dance producer Spiller to sample the hook on the worldwide dance
hit “Groovejet (If This Ain't Love)” which topped both the U.K. and
Australian pop charts in 2000.

Newly remastered and complete with extensive liner notes and
bonus material, BBR is proud to present 'LECTRIC LADY. Essential
listening for all R&B, Soul, Funk, Disco and Dance fans out there!

1.  Love Is You 5:11
2.  This Time May Be The Last Time 3:40
3.  More 5:43
4.  Just Feel 4:21
5.  My Time Of Need 3:46
6.  Come Back 3:43
7.  Danger Sign 4:54
8.  Rattlesnake 3:49
9.  You'Re So Much A Part Of Me 3:54

Bonustracks :

10. Love Is You ("A Tom Moulton Mix") 7:53
11. More (12" Version) 7:21
12. Come Back (12" Version) 7:15
13. Love Is You (Single Version) 3:40

Label : Big Break records
Ean : 5013929053632

If you want to order this great album and live outise the Netherlands, no problem.
We shipped worldwide en paypments can be done isn $, GBP & Euro by Paypal.
Ask for the right post & shipping amount.
Send e-mail to

Also Available  now :