Carolyn Franklin  - If You Want Me   Expanded Edition bbr 272

Carolyn Franklin - If You Want Me Expanded Edition bbr 272

  • Merk:
  • EAN code: 5013929057234

€ 19.99

Carolyn Franklin  - If You Want Me


• CAROLYN ANN FRANKLIN spent her singing and song writing career somewhat in the shadow of her hugely successful sister, The First Lady Of Soul, Aretha, having followed both her older siblings Aretha and Erma from the church into a secular recording career in the mid to late sixties. Although, Like Erma, Carolyn had modest success compared to Aretha she recorded with her sister many times and proved herself as an excellent songwriter penning hits for Aretha such as ‘Ain't No Way,’ ‘Save Me’ and the stunning ‘Angel.’ From 1969-1973 Franklin released three albums in produced by Jimmy Radcliffe which provided the R&B hits ‘All I Want To Be Is Your Woman’ and ‘It's True I'm Gonna Miss You,’ proving Carolyn was an exceptional vocalist in her own right.

• IF YOU WANT ME was Franklin's fourth and last studio album released in 1976 on RCA. Carolyn displays incredibly subtlety and control on this excellent album for which also she provides many of the song writing credits. ‘From The Bottom Of My Heart (To The Bottom Of Yours)’ sets the smooth, honeyed tone for the rest of this under-appreciated album. The beautifully sung and arranged ballad ‘I Can't Help My Feeling So Blue’ should have dented the R&B chart but went under the radar. Title track ‘If You Want Me’ and ‘You Can Have My Soul’ are superb examples of 'loose but tight' 70's soul with progressive rhythms and plenty of feeling. Closer ‘Deal With It,’ a classic slice of funky soul, adds a little kick at the end and tips it's hat to sister Aretha's ‘Rock Steady’ with its chopping rhythms and ‘There It Is’ refrain.

• BBR is proud to present Carolyn Franklin's IF YOU WANT ME. This expanded and re-mastered edition comes complete with extensive liner notes and added bonus material and is a must have for all R&B, Soul and Funk fans out there!     

1: From The Bottom Of My Heart (To The Bottom Of Yours)
2: If You Want Me
3: I Can't Help Feeling So Blue
4: Too Many Roads
5: Sunshine Holiday
6: Dead Man
7: You Are Everything
8: You Can Have My Soul
9: Song Man
10: Not Enough Love To Hold
11: Deal With It

Bonustrack :

12: I Can't Help Feeling So Blue (Single Version)

Label : Big Break Records
          CDBBR 0272
Ean :  5013929057234

If you want to order this great album and live outise the Netherlands, no problem.
We shipped worldwide en paypments can be done isn $, GBP & Euro by Paypal.
Ask for the right post & shipping amount.
Send e-mail to

  • Carolyn Franklin  - If You Want Me   Expanded Edition bbr 272