Chameleon - Chameleon  BBR

Chameleon - Chameleon BBR

  • Merk:
  • EAN code: 5013929066335

van € 15.99
voor € 9.99

Chameleon - Chameleon.

• Chameleon was the eponymously titled 1979 album released through Elektra Records jazz-fusion arm after department head Don Mizell signed experienced multi-instrumentalist Azar Lawrence, in part due to his successful stint with Prestige Records in the mid-1970s. After a career playing alongside the likes of Elvin Jones, McCoy Tyner, Miles Davis, Muddy Waters, Ike & Tina Turner, War and many more Lawrence was inspired by his friend Maurice White’s Earth, Wind & Fire project to put together a group that exemplified his chameleonic music sensibilities to the fullest.

• Produced by saxophone specialist Lawrence and trombonist Fred Wesley (The J.B.’s/The Horny Horns) Chameleon saw song writing duties spread between the seasoned musicians involved. Bassist Gerald Brown pens the irresistible jazz-funk bounce of single ‘Get Up,’ along with EW&F sax-man Andrew Woolfolk, as well as the equally funky ‘Wishing On A Dream.’ Keyboardist Michael Stanton provides the lyrically deeper songs ‘Unfair Affair’ and the stunning ‘Game Of Life,’ both sung by guitarist Earl Alexander, the latter becoming a cult classic for the band and eventually featuring on the NATURAL HIGH series.    

• Lawrence co-writes the uplifting, cosmic disco of ‘We’ll Be Dancin’’ (co-mixed by W. Michael Lewis), ‘Come Into My Life’ and the impeccable ballad ‘I Feel You Here’ with trumpeter Delbert Taylor. Credited to the whole group “Mysteryoso” is a platform for the whole group to express their musicality with Lawrence and Stanton taking on the expansive solos on this Herbie Hancock-esque instrumental. The album closes with the serene ‘For You,’ where Alexander’s lyric-less vocal plays perfectly with Lawrence’s saxophone.

• Big Break Records is very proud to present the debut CD release of Chameleon, remastered and re-packaged with the 12” Disco Versions of both ‘We’ll Be Dancin’’ and ‘Get Up.’, and a new interview with Azar Lawrence. “Chameleon” is an essential addition to any Soul, Jazz Fusion, Funk, and Disco fan’s collection.

1. Get Up
2. Wishing a Dream
3. Unfair Affair
4. Game of Life
5. We'll Be Dancin'
6. Come Into My Life
7. I Feel You Here
8. Mysteryoso
9. For You

Bonustracks : 

10. Get Up (12 Inch Disco Version)
11. We'll Be Dancin' 
(12 Inch Disco Version)

Label : Big Break Records
Barcode : 5013929066335

If you want to order this great album and live outise the Netherlands, no problem.
We shipped worldwide en paypments can be done isn $, GBP & Euro by Paypal.
Ask for the right post & shipping amount.
Send e-mail to


  • Chameleon - Chameleon  BBR