D.J. Rogers - Love Brought Me Back

D.J. Rogers - Love Brought Me Back

  • Merk:
  • EAN code: 5013929081031

€ 9.99

• Los Angeles-born D.J. Rogers began his musical journey like  so many of his contemporaries – in the world of gospel:  as a teenaged member of the Los Angeles Community Choir, he was featured on five albums for Savoy Records before recording with the ‘godfather of contemporary gospel,’ the Reverend James Cleveland.

• In 1969, D.J. (Dwayne Julius) moved into secular music, recording a now-rare self-titled LP for singer/songwriter Leon Russell’s Shelter label. Signed to RCA Records in 1975, the powerhouse vocalist, songwriter, musician and producer made three critically-acclaimed albums for the label, establishing himself as a US soul music favourite with the now-classic ‘Say You Love Me’ (later recorded by Jennifer Holliday and Natalie Cole) and ‘Bula Jean.’

• When Maurice White (founder of Earth, Wind & Fire) saw D.J. perform at an L.A. event, he signed him to his CBS-distributed Kalimba Productions.  The result was an association that spanned three released albums, the first of which was 1978’s LOVE BROUGHT ME BACK. The uplifting title track became D.J.’s biggest US hit (Top 20 R&B Singles) and the subsequent LP his best-selling set.

• This SoulMusic Records’ expanded edition reissue features five bonus tracks, including the 12” single mix of ‘Love Brought Me Back’ and single edits of ‘All My Love’ (a US Top 100 R&B hit) along with extensive liner notes by renowned US writer A. Scott Galloway with 2013 quotes from D.J. himself, Jerry Peters, James Gadson and Maxayn Lewis.

1    Love Brought Me Back    5:31
2    Joy From You    2:51
3    When Love Is Gone    5:28
4    Yesterday Never Returns    3:42
5    Sold On You    4:41
6    You Take Me Higher (Brazilian Lover)    3:31
7    Hold Me    3:31
8    All My Love    6:01
9    Changed    2:22
Bonus Tracks
10    Love Brought Me Back, Pt. 1 (US Columbia 7" Single 3-10754)    3:53
11    Love Brought Me Back, Pt. 2 (US Columbia 7" Single 3-10754)    3:57
12    Love Brought Me Back (US Columbia 12" Single AS 475)    8:44
13    All My Love, Pt.1 (US Columbia 7" Single 3-10838)    3:53
14    All My Love, Pt. 2 (US Columbia 7" Single 3-10838)    3:53

Label : Soul Music Records
SMCR 5110
Ean :5013929081031

If you want to order this great album and live outise the Netherlands, no problem.
We shipped worldwide en paypments can be done isn $, GBP & Euro by Paypal.
Ask for the right post & shipping amount.
Send e-mail to info@dubman.eu


  • D.J. Rogers - Love Brought Me Back