Earth, Wind & Fire - Spirit Expanded Edition BBR 185

  • Merk:
  • EAN code: 5013929048539

€ 999.99


Earth Wind & Fire - Spirit  Expanded Edition BBR 185

EARTH WIND & FIRE, due to Maurice White's untainted musical vision, are one of the most prominent “Pop” groups to emerge from the musical melting pot of the 1970's. Incorporating R&B, jazz, soul, funk, gospel, blues, rock and dance music into their repertoire, as well as very strong African and spiritual influences, EARTH, WIND & FIRE boast a succession of hit R&B and Pop singles and albums and are still producing high calibre music to this day. Classic tracks like “Shining Star,” “September,” “Boogie Wonderland,” “After The Love Has
Gone” and “Let's Groove” have contributed to Maurice White and his cohorts stellar reputation among music fans.

SPIRIT, released in 1976, saw Maurice White embracing his spiritual side (hence the title) to a much greater degree. Regarded as one of the groups best albums (peaking at #2 R&B and Pop) SPIRIT gained multi-platinum sales and provided a wide range of song styles including the jazz-funk classic “Getaway” (R&B #1/Pop #12), and the funk/pop mid-tempo feel good grooves “Saturday Nite” (R&B #4/Pop #21/UK #17) and “On Your Face” (R&B #26). Throughout the album White's spiritual message and vision (part Afro-American Christianity, part Eastern philosophies) are present but never overbearing.
The incredible ballad “Imagination” and the title track “Spirit,” both
beautifully sung by EW&F vocalist of many years, Philip Bailey, exemplify the respectful, positive attitude and inclusiveness prevalent throughout the group’s career.

 Having been a prominent session musician with Chess Records in the 60's White remained close with one of the labels most creative producers Charles Stepney, who became the main collaborator on many of the EW&F projects including SPIRIT. Sadly this was one of the last projects that the unique arranger/producer/session musician/multi-instrumentalist and songwriter worked on as he passed away in May of '76 aged only 45.

BBR is very proud to present SPIRIT, fully remastered and re-packaged
complete with extensive liner notes, original artwork and extended bonus content including 2 tracks from the time that didn't appear on the original release as well as alternative versions of “Getaway,” Saturday Nite” and “Imagination.”

SPIRIT is essential listening for all R&B, Jazz, Soul, Funk, Gospel, Blues, Rock, Dance, Disco and Pop fans out there!

Tracklist :

  1 Getaway 3:47
  2 On Your Face 4:33
  3 Imagination 5:16
  4 Spirit 3:13
  5 Saturday Nite 4:02
  6 Earth, Wind & Fire 4:41
  7 Departure 0:27
  8 Biyo 3:38
  9 Burnin' Bush 6:48

  Bonustracks ;

  10 Saturday Nite (Alternate Mix) 4:55
  11 Seraphim 2:07
  12 Imagination (Angels Mix) 1:03
  13 Departure (the Traveler) 3:37
  14 African Symphony 2:03
  15 Getaway (12" Disco Version) 5:09
  16 Saturday Nite (Single Version) 3:40
  17 Departure (Single Version) 2:54
  18 Getaway (Instrumental) 3:51

Label : Big Break records
Ean : 5013929048539

If you want to order this great album and live outise the Netherlands, no problem.
We shipped worldwide en paypments can be done isn $, GBP & Euro by Paypal.
Ask for the right post & shipping amount.
Send e-mail to