Evelyn ‘Champagne’ King: The RCA Albums 1977-1985, 8CD Box Set

Evelyn ‘Champagne’ King: The RCA Albums 1977-1985, 8CD Box Set

  • Merk:
  • EAN code: 5013929089709

€ 44.99

Evelyn ‘Champagne’ King: The RCA Albums 1977-1985, 8CD Box Set.

SoulMusic Records is proud to present the eight RCA albums recorded between 1977-1985 by the iconic Evelyn ‘Champagne’ King, undeniably one of the primary purveyors of timeless R&B/dance music that helped fuel the disco movement of the late ‘70s and beyond.

While each of Evelyn’s albums has been reissued at different times on CD, this is the first-of-its-kind deluxe box set that includes all eight, with handpicked bonus tracks. 
Produced by SoulMusicom founder David Nathan (who has known Philadelphia native Evelyn since 1977), “The RCA Albums” includes stellar essays by two renowned writers: Brian Chin, who contributes an insightful overview of Evelyn’s years with RCA, complete with 2020 quotes from Evelyn herself and producers T. Life and Paul Lawrence Jones, among others; and Charles Waring who provides an in-depth commentary on each of the eight albums.

With superb artwork by Roger Williams and first class mastering by Nick Robbins, this box set boasts (82) tracks that display Evelyn’s pioneering artistry and trace her musical journey to international fame, through a number of signature anthems, establishing a global audience in the process that has made her a consistent, dynamic performer for over five decades.

Disc One: “SMOOTH TALK” (1977) produced by T. Life includes the fresh-as-ever “Shame,” a US Top 10 pop, R&B and dance hit and the follow-up smash ‘I Don’t Know If It’s Right’; expanded edition bonus tracks are 12” Disco Mixes of each.

Disc Two: “MUSIC BOX” (1979), also produced by T. Life, features the US charted hits ‘Out There’ and the title track; expanded edition includes 12” versions of both.

Disc Three: “CALL ON ME” (1980) was initially released in 1980 with the title “Sweet Delight” and different tracks; the original LP was withdrawn and retitled with a new track listing. The expanded edition includes all the tracks from “Sweet Delight” as well as the 12” version of the US R&B/dance hit, ‘Let’s Get Funky Tonight’.

Disc Four: “I’M IN LOVE” (1981) features the US R&B and dance music #1 title track and boasts production work from Morrie Brown with Kashif & Paul Laurence Jones; and the team of Willie Lester & Rodney Brown. Expanded edition bonus track, 12” Dance Mix of ‘I’m In Love’

Disc Five: “GET LOOSE” (1982) contains two of Evelyn’s most memorable hits, ‘Love Come Down’ and ‘Betcha She Don’t Love You’, both written and co-produced by Kashif; expanded edition includes 12” Version of ‘Love Come Down’.

Disc Six: “FACE TO FACE” (1983) represents a change of style with producers Leon Sylvers and his team and Minneapolian Andre Cymone placing Evelyn in different musical settings; includes the US charted singles, ‘Action’ and ‘Teenager’.

Disc Seven: “SO ROMANTIC” (1984), one of Evelyn’s most diverse RCA LPs, features an array of producers including Carl Sturken & Evan Rogers, Clif Magness & Glen Ballard, Hawk Wolinski ,The System and Jimmy Douglass.

Disc Eight: “LONG TIME COMING (A CHANGE IS GONNA COME)” (1985), Evelyn’s RCA swansong album, reunites her with T. Life and includes production by Hawk; Bobby Watson with Rene & Angela; and the team of Allen George & Fred McFarlane who provided the hits ‘High Horse’ and ‘Your Personal Touch’; expanded edition cuts are a Dance Version of the latter along with two non-album ‘B’ sides, ‘Take A Chance’ and ‘Better Deal’.

Disc One: Smooth Talk (1977) Expanded Edition

1. Smooth Talk
2. I Don’t Know If It’s Right
3. Till I Come Off The Road
4. Dancin’, Dancin’, Dancin’
5. Shame
6. Nobody Knows
7. We’re Going To A Party
8. The Show Is Over

Bonus Tracks :

9. Shame (12″ Disco Mix)
10. I Don’t Know If It’s Right (12″ Disco Mix)

Disc Two: Music Box (1979) Expanded Edition

1. Music Box
2. Let’s Start All Over Again
3. Out There
4. No Time For Fooling Around
5. Steppin’ Out (Part 1)
6. Steppin’ Out (Part 2)
7. Make Up Your Mind
8. I Think My Heart Is Telling
9. It’s Ok

Bonus Tracks:

10. Music Box (12″ Version)
11. Out There (12″ Version)

Disc Three: Call On Me (1980) Expanded Edition

1. Let’s Get Funky Tonight
2. Your Kind Of Loving
3. Call On Me
4. I Need Your Love
5. Talk Don’t Hurt Nobody
6. Just A Little Bit Of Love
7. Bedroom Eyes
8. Universal Girl

Bonus Tracks :

9. Sweet Delight
10. Long Time Waiting On You
11. Is It Good
12. I Love You
13. Let’s Get Funky Tonight (12” Version)

Disc Four: I’m In Love (1981) Expanded Edition

1. I’m In Love
2. If You Want My Lovin’
3. Don’t Hide Our Love
4. What Are You Waiting For
5. Spirit Of The Dancer
6. The Other Side Of Love
7. I Can’t Take It
8. The Best Is Yet To Come

Bonus Track :

9. I’m In Love (12″ Dance Mix)

Disc Five: Get Loose (1982) Expanded Edition

1. Love Come Down
2. I Can’t Stand It
3. Betcha She Don’t Love You
4. Get Loose
5. Back To Love
6. Stop That
7. Get Up Off Your Love
8. I’m Just Warmin’ Up

Bonus Track : 
9. Love Come Down (12″ Version)

Disc Six: Face To Face (1983)

1. Action
2. Face To Face
3. Shake Down
4. Tell Me Something Good
5. Don’t It Feel Good
6. Makin’ Me So Proud
7. Givin’ You My Love (What Cha Gonna Do With It)
8. Teenager
9. Let’s Get Crazy

Disc 7: So Romantic (1984)

1. Show Me (Don’t Tell Me)
2. Heartbreaker
3. Till Midnight
4. Just For The Night
5. Give Me One Reason
6. Out Of Control
7. Talking In My Sleep
8. I’m So Romantic
9. So In Love

Disc Eight: A Long Time Coming (A Change Is Gonna Come) (1985) Expanded Edition

1. Chemistry Of Love
2. A Change Is Gonna Come
3. Spellbound
4. If You Find The Time
5. Slow Down
6. If I Let Myself Go
7. Your Personal Touch
8. I’m So Scared
9. High Horse

Bonus Tracks :

10.Your Personal Touch (Dance Version)
11.Take A Chance (12” Version)
12.Better Deal (7” Version)

Label : Soul Music Records SMCR5197BX
Barcode : 5013929089709.

Verzendkosten : Als Pakketpost.
If you want to order this great album and live outise the Netherlands, no problem.
We shipped worldwide en paypments can be done isn $, GBP & Euro by Paypal.
Ask for the right post & shipping amount.

Send e-mail to info@dubman.eu

  • Evelyn ‘Champagne’ King: The RCA Albums 1977-1985, 8CD Box Set