Four Tops - Indestructible  SMR

Four Tops - Indestructible SMR

  • Merk:
  • EAN code: 5013929081130

€ 19.99

• In 1988, The Four Tops left Motown (the company for whom they recorded enduring classics such as ‘Reach Out I’ll Be There’ and ‘I Can’t Help Myself’)  after a third stint to make one album, INDESTRUCTIBLE for Arista Records
• With Arista founder Clive Davis helming the project as executive producer, the original members of the legendary quartet (Duke Fakir, Lawrence Payton, Levi Stubbs and Obie Benson) worked with several producers –Narada Michael Walden (fresh from success with Arista artists Whitney Houston and Aretha Franklin); Steve Barri (who had produced the group at ABC/Dunhill Records) and Bobby Sandstrom; their former Motown colleague Lamont Dozier working with superstar Phil Collins; pop and rock star Huey Lewis; the team of Jerry Knight & Aaron Zigman (who had worked with The Jets and The Pointer Sisters among others); and singer/songwriter Albert Hammond.  

• The album enjoyed its’ greatest success in Europe: in the UK, “Loco In Acapulco” (co-written by Phil Collins for the film, “Buster” in which he starred in the lead role) reached the Top 10;  while the infectious title track  – with a vocal cameo from Motown pal Smokey Robinson - also became a Top 30 UK hit and Top 100 US pop and Top 40 R&B charted single. Other standouts include a US-charted duet with fellow Detroit friend Aretha Franklin on ‘If There  A Love There Was’ (also featuring Arista’s Kenny G on sax) and ‘The Sun Ain’t Gonna Shine’ (with a sax solo from Clarence Clemons).

• This SoulMusic Records’ expanded edition reissue includes six bonus tracks including the UK single of ‘Loco In Acapulco’ and three remixes of the track, an extended version of ‘Indestructible’ and a non-album ‘B’ side ‘The Four Of Us,’ written by group member Lawrence Payton as well as liner notes by renowned UK writer Charles Waring including quotes from producer Narada Michael Walden.  

Tracklist :

  1 Indestructible 4:30
  2 Change of Heart 4:50
  3 If Ever a Love There Was (Duet with Aretha Franklin & Featuring Kenny G) 4:30
  4 The Sun Ain't Gonna Shine (Featuring Clarence Clemons) 4:53
  5 Next Time 3:29
  6 Loco in Acapulco 4:32
  7 Are You with Me 4:37
  8 I'M Only Wounded 4:00
  9 When You Dance 5:07
  10 Let's Jam 4:32

  Bonustracks :

  11 The Four of Us (Uk Arista 7" Maxi- Single) 4:12
  12 Loco in Acapulco (Body Mix) (European Arista 12" Single) 4:24
  13 Loco in Acapulco (Ph Dub) (Uk Arista 12" Single) 6:43
  14 Loco in Acapulco ((Ph Balance Mix) (Uk Arista 12" Single) 9:06
  15 Indestructible (Extended Mix) (Uk Arista 12" Single)  7:48

Label : Soul Music Records
SMCR 5111
Ean : 5013929081130

If you want to order this great album and live outise the Netherlands, no problem.
We shipped worldwide en paypments can be done isn $, GBP & Euro by Paypal.
Ask for the right post & shipping amount.
Send e-mail to


  • Four Tops - Indestructible  SMR