Gap Band - The Gap Band VI  BBR0223

Gap Band - The Gap Band VII BBR0223

  • Merk:
  • EAN code: 5013929052338

€ 999.99


THE GAP BAND enjoyed huge success throughout the 70s and 80s with their unique sound and contribution to the Funk scene. Formed in 1967 in their hometown of Tulsa, Oklahoma, brothers Charlie, Ronnie and Robert Wilson first went by the name Greenwood, Archer and Pine Street Band later shortening the name to THE GAP BAND in 1973. LA Producer, Lonnie Simmons, signed them to his label, Total Experience Records, setting in
motion what would be the start of a long and prosperous relationship between THE GAP BAND and Simmons.

Notable hits include their top ten hit Shake, the breakthrough single from The Gap Band II, I Don't Believe You Want To Get Up And Dance (Oops!) and the number one R&B hit Early In The Morning taken from their 1982 #1
R&B album The Gap Band IV. Their 1985 offering THE GAP BAND VI, an R&B #1 album, spawned the hits Beep A Freak (R&B #2), I Found My Baby (R&B #8) and Disrespect which earned a Top 20 R&B position.

1986 brought the release of THE GAP BAND VII and with it the band scored another hit R&B album peaking at #6. The first single was the opening track DESIRE, which was followed by the stunning R&B ballad GOING IN CIRCLES which climbed all the way to #2 on the Billboard R&B charts. The final single saw the band back on their trademark groove with the supercatchy
funk workout, AUTOMATIC BRAIN, while not gaining the acclaim that it deserved at the time, Automatic Brain has gone on to be revered by
Gap Band fans everywhere.

HE GAP BAND VII also provided classic Gap Band sonics on the tracks ‘Ooh, What A Feeling’, ‘Li’l Red Funkin’ Hood’ and ‘Bumpin’ Gum People’.
BBR is very proud to present the next entry in our series of new to CD Total Experience reissues in the form of THE GAP BAND VII, newly remastered and repackaged for the first time on CD anywhere in the world complete with extensive liner notes and expansive bonus content.

Tracklist :

1. Desire  5:35
2. Going In Circles 4:34
3. Automatic Brain 5:06
4. L'il Red Funkin' Hood 5:28
5. Ooh, What A Feeling 4:16
6. I Want A Real Love  3:58
7. Bumpin' Gum People 4:37
8. I Know We'll Make It  4:52
9. I Need Your Love 3:45

Bonus tracks :

10. Desire (12 " Special mix) 6:26
11. Going In Cirles (12" Long version remix) 5:55
12. Automatic Brain ( (12"Club Mix) 7:41
13. Desire ( 12"Dub Mix) 6:28
14. Going In Cirles (12"Instrumental  with harmonica ) 5:15
15. Automatic Brain ( (12" Rap Version) 5:51

Label : Big Break Records
CDBBR 0223
Ean :5013929052338

If you want to order this great album and live outise the Netherlands, no problem.
We shipped worldwide en paypments can be done isn $, GBP & Euro by Paypal.
Ask for the right post & shipping amount.
Send e-mail to

Also Available :

  • Gap Band - The Gap Band VI  BBR0223