George Duke - Don't Let Go

George Duke - Don't Let Go

  • Merk:
  • EAN code: 5013929078031

van € 16.99
voor € 14.99

•    In 1977, master musician, recording artist and performer George Duke had enjoyed his biggest sales success with “Reach For It” (from the best-selling album of the same name).

•    With an ensemble that included percussionist Sheila E., drummer Ndugu Chancler, bassist Byron Miller, guitarist Charles ‘Icarus’ Johnson and vocalists Josie James and Napoleon Murphy Brock, the California-born Duke – whose musical resume included the likes of Frank Zappa (and his Mothers of Invention), violinist Jean-Luc Ponty, saxophonist Cannonball Adderley and big band leader Don Ellis – masterminded DON’T LET GO as a soul’n’funk set that would yield the second biggest R&B charted hit of his illustrious career.

•    The sixth reissue by SoulMusic Records from George’s albums for Epic Records, 1978’s DON’T LET GO became a U.S. Top 5 R&B and Top 10 jazz album, spurred by the timeless funk cut, ‘Dukey Stick’ which also became the centrepiece of Duke’s exciting and dynamic live performances in the late ‘70s and early ‘80s. This expanded edition – part of the classic jazz/funk series from SoulMusic Records – features three bonus tracks including the 12”extended version of ‘Dukey Stick.’

•    Other key cuts on DON’T LET GO include the soul ballad ‘The Way I Feel,’ the furiously fast title track and the smooth groove winner ‘Morning Sun.’  Extensive liner notes by renowned U.S. writer A. Scott Galloway include new quotes from Duke and the primary musicians and singers involved in the sessions for the album.

1. We Give Our Love     4:32     
2. Morning Sun     4:14     
3. Percussion Interlude 2:00     
4. Dukey Stick     6:00     
5. Starting Again     4:25     
6. Yeah, We Going     3:40     
7. The Way I Feel     4:43     
8. Movin' On     4:20     
9. Don't Let Go     3:23     
10. Preface     1:28     
11. The Future 3:19

Bonustracks :

12. Dukey Stick (pt. 1) Us Single Edit 3:30
13. Dukey Stick (pt. 2) Us Single Edit  4:40
14. Dukey Stick Us 12 "Single 8:05

Label : SoulMusicRecords
           SMCR 5080
Ean :  5013929078031

If you want to order this great album and live outise the Netherlands, no problem.
We shipped worldwide en paypments can be done isn $, GBP & Euro by Paypal.
Ask for the right post & shipping amount.
Send e-mail to

Ook Verkrijgbaar / also available on Soul Musics Records :



  • George Duke - Don't Let Go