Instant Funk  - Witch Doctor

Instant Funk - Witch Doctor BBR 265

  • Merk:
  • EAN code: 5013929056534

€ 999.99


Instant Funk  - Witch Doctor.

• Instant Funk came out of New Jersey in the early seventies having started life as The Music Machine, performing as backing band for the likes of The Manhattans, Bunny Sigler and The TNJ's. The group moved to Philadelphia in 1976 to work on their own sound and released their first LP “Get Down With The Philly Jump” on the city’s famous TSOP imprint, now firmly under the wing of Bunny Sigler who produced the record. The following year Instant Funk backed Bunny Sigler on his Gold Mind/Salsoul release “Let Me Party With You” (CDBBR0249) paving the way for the groups eponymous debut on Salsoul in early 1979 (CDBBR0121) having perfected their marriage of Philly Soul/Disco and Heavy Funk.

• WITCH DOCTOR (R&B #23/Pop #129), also released in 1979, came hot on the heels of the success of their first Salsoul offering capitalizing on tracks such as ‘I Got My Mind Made Up (You Can Get It Girl)’ which hit the top spot on both the R&B and Disco charts. Bunny Sigler comes to the fore in the producers chair on WITCH DOCTOR, galvanizing the group to hit the heights on the full on funk tracks “Bodyshine” (R&B #41/Pop #103), with Tee Scott's 12” Mix also included on this release, ‘Slap, Slap, Lickedy Lap,’ and the title track ‘Witch Doctor’ (R&B #35) which all exemplify the tightest of units at the top of their game grooving on the richest of party funk cuts. “Scream And Shout” is another floor-filler while the ballad ‘I Had A Dream’ shows the band in a different light.

• During their career Instant Funk also worked with the likes of the O’Jays, Archie Bell & the Drells, the Three Degrees, Dexter Wansell and Evelyn "Champagne” King, as well as releasing seven albums between 1976 and 1983.

• This newly remastered edition of Instant Funk's WITCH DOCTOR comes complete with extensive liner notes and bonus content making this BBR Remaster a must have for all R&B, Funk, Soul, Disco and Philly Soul fans out there!

Tracklist :

Slap, Slap, Lickedy Lap     7:16
Witch Doctor     3:29
I Had A Dream     5:54
Bodyshine     7:20
It's Your Love On My Mind     3:56
I Want To Love You     4:14
Scream And Shout  4:02

Bonustracks :

Slap, Slap, Lickedy Lap (Alternative Mix) 6:44
Witch Doctor (Short Version)  5:52
Bodyshine ( Tee Scott 12 " Mix)  8:27

Label : Big Break Records
CatNr : CDBBR 0265
Ean : 5013929056534

If you want to order this great album and live outise the Netherlands, no problem.
We shipped worldwide en paypments can be done isn $, GBP & Euro by Paypal.
Ask for the right post & shipping amount.
Send e-mail to

  • Instant Funk  - Witch Doctor