Jaffa - Echoes

  • Merk:
  • EAN code: 0882119018622

van € 14.99
voor € 7.99

About the band.

Jaffa is born out of the long existing desire of Dutch singer Christel Meijer to create music with electronic flair. Being introduced to producer Phil Martin (The Jazzinvaders/Laura Vane and the Vipertones) from record label Social Beats opened up the door for this vision to be realized. The first musical encounter happened to be very successful and resulted into the laid back groovy jazz beat sound of An Echo Remains. This song appeared on Socialized Jazz Beats 2 (Social Beats) in January 2009, which was also released in Japan. The song was received remarkably well, appearing on different play lists around the world. Anticipation for a full length album from Jaffa started growing steadily.

About the music

Jaffa started writing with an electro acoustic approach. Vocalist Christel would start out providing a jazzy harmonic structure, with crisp melody lines and dreamy lyrics, while Phil Martin would work on the right groove and sound. They immediately created a remarkable sound, using samples of Christel’s vocal improvisations to build an underlying melodic groove. They further used acoustic percussion instruments as well as synthesizers and effects.

All of this resulted in a mix of a rich variety of styles, creating jazzy synth pop with an edge, catchy melody lines, intriguing lyrics and deep vocals.

About the album

The album entitled ‘Echoes’, tells the story of someone dealing with ghosts from the past. Running away in search of freedom this person finds himself in a surreal environment, running into concrete walls wherever he goes. He fights until he drops. Right at that moment, he realizes he’s not alone, and finds strength in the knowledge that there are other travelers on this road like him, with whom he can hold on firmly to the hope of finding this life of freedom.

Besides referring to echoes from the past, the album title also speaks about the echoing of the future, which sparks of glimpses into the present of a more fulfilling life lying ahead.

1. Stay Out Here
2. Take It Slow
3. Help Me Out
4. Don't Listen
5. All I Have
6. Erase the Past
7. Hair Repair
8. Alice
9. Stuck
10. For You (In Awe)
11. An Echo (Remains Free)

Label : Unique
Ean : 0882119018622


A short introduction of the new dutch group Jaffa. They released their debut album on Social Beats / Unique Records called "Echoes".
Check it out on http://soundcloud.com/phil-martin/sets/jaffa-echoes-album-2011/

filmed and edit by Rick van Tol