M.F.S.B. - M.F.S.B.  CDBBR 228

M.F.S.B. - M.F.S.B. CDBBR 228

  • Merk:
  • EAN code: 5013929052833

€ 999.99


M.F.S.B. (Mother Father Sister Brother) was the house band for
Philadelphia International Records and worked very closely with the production team of Gamble & Huff. They backed up groups such as Harold Melvin & The Blue Notes, The O’Jays, The Stylistics, The Spinners, Wilson Pickett and Billy Paul and are probably best known in their own right for providing the theme music for the legendary TV show Soul Train with ‘T.S.O.P. (The Sound Of Philadelphia)’.

With the rise of the Philly soul sound at the beginning of the '70s, business was booming at Gamble and Huff's Philadelphia International imprint and as a result M.F.S.B. were kept very busy in the studio providing backing for the aforementioned artists and leaving little time for the groups own recording sessions.

It wasn’t until 1973 that the group had a chance to record material in its own name and released their self-titled debut album to high acclaim later that same year. MFSB features extended Funk-Soul-Jazz work-outs as on the seven-minute cover of Curtis Mayfield’s ‘Freddie's Dead’ that opens the set. The group also re-interpreted Sly Stone's ‘Family Affair’
to great effect while emphasising the flute as the driving force for their version of their label mates The O’Jays ‘Back Stabbers’ R&B chart
topper from the previous year. The lush Disco/Pop sounds that informed the majority of the group’s later recordings, both in their own right and as the PIR house band, are featured on the other notable tracks on the album, in particular “Poinciana" which also features jazz-blues piano and guitar interjecting the soaring strings. ‘Something For Nothing’
(sampled by Groove Armada) also fits that description with a beautiful string led section that leads to an incredible motif on the horns which blasts through at just the right time, propelling the track forward.

BBR is very proud to present MFSB, fully re-mastered and complete with extensive liner notes and bonus tracks.
FSB is a must for all R&B, Soul, Funk and Jazz fans out there!

1. Freddie's Dead 7:11
2. Family Affair 4:22
3. Something For Nothing 2:59
4. Backstabbers 6:31
5. Lay In Low  3:43
6. Poinciana 5:52

Bonustracks :

7. Family Affair (Single Version) 2:20

Label : Big Break Records
Catnr. : CDBBR228
Ean : 5013929052833

If you want to order this great album and live outise the Netherlands, no problem.
We shipped worldwide en paypments can be done isn $, GBP & Euro by Paypal.
Ask for the right post & shipping amount.
Send e-mail to info@dubman.eu

Also Available :


  • M.F.S.B. - M.F.S.B.  CDBBR 228