Michael Henderson - Take Me I’m Yours / The Budday Years Anthology 2-cd

Michael Henderson - Take Me I’m Yours / The Budday Years Anthology 2-cd

  • Merk:
  • EAN code: 5013929086838

van € 21.99
voor € 19.99

Michael Henderson - Take Me I’m Yours / The Budday Years Anthology

As part of its acclaimed anthology series, SoulMusic Records is very proud to present “Take Me I’m Yours – The Buddah Years,” a solid retrospective of award-winning recording artist, producer, songwriter and musician Michael Henderson’s hit-filled tenure (1976-1983) wih Buddah Records.

Before achieving international recognition as a stellar artist in his own right, Michigan-born Michael began doing shows as a bass player with R&B favourites, The Detroit Emeralds; in the late ‘60s, a youthful Stevie Wonder invited the teenager to join his band. In Detroit, Michael played on sessions with Motown artists including The Four Tops, Martha Reeves & The Vandellas, Gladys Knight & The Pips and David Ruffin as well as doing shows with Aretha Franklin.

In 1970, during a New York gig with Wonder, jazz legend Miles Davis offered Michael a spot in his touring and recording band which lasted for five years before fellow band member Reggie Lucas introduced him to drummer Norman Connors. In 1975, Michael cut his own ‘Valentine Love’ as a duet with Jean Carn for Connors’ “Saturday Night Special” LP and began experiencing eight years of best-selling singles and LPs.

The title track for Connors’ 1976 LP, “You Are My Starship” established Michael as a hitmaker in his own right and was followed by a duet with then-newcomer Phyllis Hyman (‘We Both Need Each Other’). In 1976, Buddah Records released “Solid,” Michael’s first of seven albums for the label.

This anthology, compiled by SoulMusic Records’ founder David Nathan, includes all of Michael’s fifteen US charted singles including the Top 5 R&B hit ‘Take Me I’m Yours’ and the 1981 hit duet with Phyllis Hyman, ‘Can’t We Fall In Love Again’ as well as key LP cuts such as the quiet storm gem, ‘At The Concert’ with Roberta Flack and ‘Treat Me Like A Man’ (which Michael also produced for The Dramatics).

Stellar liner notes by Billboard senior editor Gail Mitchell include extensive quotes and track-by-track commentary from Michael; and first class remastering (Donald Cleveland) and artwork (Roger Williams).

Cd 1 :

1 You Are My Starship - Norman Connors
2 Featuring Michael Henderson:
3 We Both Need Each Other - Norman Connors
4 Featuring Michael Henderson & Phyllis Hyman:
5 Make Me Feel Better
6 Time
7 Treat Me Like a Man
8 Solid
9 Be My Girl
10 You Haven't Made It to the Top
11 Valentine Love - Norman Connors
12 Featuring Michael Henderson & Jean Carn
13 Stay with Me This Summer
14 I Can't Help It (Us Single Edit)
15 Won't You Be Mine
16 Whip It
17 Goin' Places
18 At the Concert - Michael Henderson & Roberta Flack
19 Take Me I'm Yours

CD 2: 

1 In the Night-Time
2 Am I Special
3 To Be Loved
4 Do It All
5 Playing on the Real Thing
6 Riding
7 Reach Out for Me
8 Wide Receiver
9 Prove It
10 You're My Choice
11 Make Me Feel Like
12 Can't We Fall in Love Again - Phyllis Hyman & Michael Henderson
13 Make It Easy on Yourself
14 (We Are Here to) Geek You Up
15 Slingshot
16 Come to Me
17 Fickle

Label : SoulMusic Records - SMCR 5168D
barcode : 5013929086838

If you want to order this great album and live outise the Netherlands, no problem.
We shipped worldwide en paypments can be done isn $, GBP & Euro by Paypal.
Ask for the right post & shipping amount.
Send e-mail to 

Verzendkosten / Post shipping : choose 1 cd.

  • Michael Henderson - Take Me I’m Yours / The Budday Years Anthology 2-cd