O Jay's - The O'Jays In Philadelphia CDBBR 229

  • Merk:
  • EAN code: 5013929052932

€ 19.99

THE O'JAYS were formed by five high school friends in 1958 who after seeing Frankie Lymon and The Teenagers perform, were inspired to start a vocal group. They spent time on various labels and released some fairly successful singles on Imperial Records working with H.B. Barnum and also
Gamble & Huff, who were working as a production team for Neptune Records.

THE O’JAYS IN PHILADELPHIA was the group’s only studio album to be released on Neptune Records in 1970.The title refers to the beginning of their association with Philly's R&B scene and producers/songwriters Kenny Gamble & Leon Huff. This album heralded a long run of success and one of the most fruitful partnerships in the history of soul music with The O’Jays becoming the biggest act on Gamble and Huff’s legendary Philadelphia International Records imprint throughout the 70’s when the label released
the “Back Stabbers” album in 1972 (CDBBR0051).

THE O’JAYS IN PHILADELPHIA starts with the amazing ‘One Night Affair’.
The song was released as a single in the summer of ’69 reached #15 R&B. The track has an up-tempo propulsive groove backed up with lush strings and horns to compliment the gritty gospel influenced vocal from Eddie Levert as he pleads for a night of passion with no strings attached. The
second single was ‘Branded Bad’ (R&B #41), a quintessential Gamble/Huff production with some great instrumentation including a crunching organ motif towards the end. ‘Deeper (In Love With You)’ (R&B #21), the third single, is a swinging soul track in the 60’s style with a demanding ‘walking’ bass line and a very danceable track. Single number four, ‘Looky Looky
(Look At Me Girl)’ (R&B #17) is another energetic up-tempo soul track with the group pleading for attention from the fairer sex. Other standout tracks are the stunning ballad ‘Let Me In To Your World’ and the mid-tempo groovers ‘You’re The Best Thing Since Candy’ and ‘I Should Be Your Lover’.

BBR is very proud to present THE O’JAYS IN PHILADELPHIA, expertly remastered and complete with extensive liner notes and the album’s original art work on CD for the first time.

THE O’JAYS IN PHILADELPHIA is absolutely essential listening for all R&B and Soul fans, especially those who champion the Philly Sound!

1. One Night Affair 2:19
2. You're The Best Thing Since Candy 2:58
3. Branded Bad 2:55
4. I Should Be Your Lover 2:05
5. Looky Looky (Look At Me Girl) 2:46
6. Deeper (In Love With You) 2:41
7. Let Me In Your World 2:38
8. Just Can't Get Enough 2:10
9. I've Got The Groove  2:19
10. Something/Little Green Apples 4:33
11. It's Too Strong 3:04

Label : Big Break records
          CDBBR 0229
Ean :5013929052932

If you want to order this great album and live outise the Netherlands, no problem.
We shipped worldwide en paypments can be done isn $, GBP & Euro by Paypal.
Ask for the right post & shipping amount.
Send e-mail to info@dubman.eu

Also Available