Peter Schilling - Error In The System

  • Merk:
  • EAN code: 5013929241527

van € 17.99
voor € 15.99

eter Schilling - Error In The System.


• By the early 1980s, new wave had edged closer to bombastic pop than its punk origins, no doubt influenced by David Bowie’s shift from new wave pioneer of the 1970s to his New Romantic pop of 1980. Furthermore, the song was an answer to Bowie’s Space Oddity.

• Peter Schilling’s debut album ERROR IN THE SYSTEM actually arrived a year earlier in Germany (FEHLER IM SYSTEM) (1982) before Elektra released the record in English. What is even more surprising is the durability the record had given how fleeting new wave pop could be in terms of commercial presence. ‘MAJOR TOM’ may have provided Peter with the best hook to gain an international audience but the album boasted even more melodic (and melancholic) anthems. ‘ONLY DREAMS’, ‘LIFETIME GUARANTEE’ and ‘I HAVE NO DESIRE’ are also highlights.

• A biting criticism of the U.S.A.’s inflated capitalism of the 1980s, the lyrics are easy to overlook given how upbeat the song sounds. It’s this dichotomy that elevates the album from being defined by ‘MAJOR TOM’, Peter Schilling’s only release with international success.

• This HOT SHOT RECORDS edition of ERROR IN THE SYSTEM also features a wealth of bonus tracks, including original versions from the album’s German release as well as 12” mixes of ‘MAJOR TOM’ and the albums second single ‘DIE WUSTE LEBT – THE NOAH PLAN’.

• HOT SHOT RECORDS is thrilled to present this expanded and remastered edition of ERROR IN THE SYSTEM  with a brand new interview with remixer John Luongo as well as nine bonus tracks

1 Only Dreams    3:23
2 Lifetime Guarantee    6:45
3 The Noah Plan    4:18
4 Error In The System    3:33
5 Major Tom (Coming Home)    4:59
6 Major Tom, Part 2    3:42
7 Let's Play (U.S.A.)    3:16
8 I Have No Desire    3:29
9  Stille Nacht, Heilige Nacht (Silent Night, Holy Night)    3:29

Bonus Tracks :

10 Major Tom (Coming Home) (12" Special Extended Version)    8:06
11 Die Wüste Lebt (12" Remix)    4:27
12 Fehler Im System    3:27
13 Fast Alles Konstruiert    6:45
14 ...Dann Trügt Der Schein    3:23
15 Ich Hab' Keine Lust    3:30
16 U.S.A.    3:19
17 Major Tom (Völlig Losgelost)    4:58
18 Major Tom (Coming Home) (Special Instrumental Version)    4:47

Label : Hot Shot Records  – WHSR015
Ean :5013929241527

If you want to order this great album and live outise the Netherlands, no problem.
We shipped worldwide en paypments can be done isn $, GBP & Euro by Paypal.
Ask for the right post & shipping amount.
Send e-mail to

Verzendkosten / Post shipping : choose 1 cd.