Phyllis Hyman - Deliver The Love / The Anthology

Phyllis Hyman - Deliver The Love / The Anthology

  • Merk:
  • EAN code: 5013929086531

van € 21.99
voor € 17.99

Phyllis Hyman - Deliver The Love / The Anthology.

• As part of its acclaimed anthology series, SoulMusic Records is very proud to present “Deliver The Love – The Anthology,” - a sumptuous 2-CD homage to the late legendary vocalist, Phyllis Hyman who continues to enjoy a faithful and loyal following among discerning music lovers the world over.

• “Deliver The Love” focuses on the Pittsburgh-born entertainer’s years with Buddah Records and Arista Records; in addition to all her charted tracks released between 1976-1985 (including ‘You Know How To Love Me’, ‘Somewhere In My Lifetime’ and ‘Betcha By Golly Wow’), this compilation (lovingly produced by SoulMusic Records’ founder David Nathan, who began interviewing Phyllis in 1977 and maintained his association with her until 1995, the year of her passing) contains a plethora of guest appearances with other musical giants including Norman Connors, Grover Washington Jr., Pharaoh Sanders, McCoy Tyner and Barry Manilow.  

• The soulful singer’s duets with Michael Henderson – ‘Can’t We Fall In Love Again’ and ‘We Both Need Each Other’ – are included along with 12” single versions of ‘Kiss You All Over’, the stunning Thom Bell-Linda Creed composition, ‘Loving You, Losing You’ and ‘Living Inside Your Love’.  Other highlights include the Bell-produced ‘Magic Mona’, the underrated ‘Just Imagine…’ (from the Norman Connors’ album, “You Are My Starship”) and  the timeless standard, ‘In A Sentimental Mood’, from the Broadway musical “Duke Ellington’s Sophisticated Ladies” which garnered Phyllis a Tony nomination in 1981. In addition, four obscure tracks that remained unreleased until issued on UK compilations in the last ten years are also included along with much-loved gems from the Hyman recorded legacy such as ‘I Don’t Want To Lose You’, her self-penned ‘Gonna Make Changes’, ‘No One Can Love You More’ and ‘Be Careful (How You Treat My Love)’.

• Stellar liner notes by A. Scott Galloway include quotes from Stanley Clarke, Onaje Allen Gumbs, Jean Carn, Preston Glass, Narada Michael Walden and others; a personal tribute by David Nathan; first class remastering by Donald Cleveland; and excellent artwork by Roger Williams make this a heartfelt tribute to an amazing, distinctive and much-loved chanteuse. 

CD  1:

1. Baby (I'm Gonna Love You) (7" Version)
2. You Know How to Love Me
3. Under Your Spell
4. You Sure Look Good to Me
5. Tonight You and Me (Disco Version)
6. Riding the Tiger (Single Edit)
7. Kiss You All Over (12" Version)
8. If You Ever Change Your Mind
9. Sleep on It
10. Hottest Love Around
11. Living Inside Your Love (12" Single)
12. We Both Need Each Other - Norman Connors Feat. Phyllis Hyman and Michael Henderson
13. Can't We Fall in Love Again - Phyllis Hyman and Michael Henderson
14. Why Did You Turn Me on
15. Deliver the Love
16. Loving You, Losing You (12" Single)

Cd 2:

1. Let Somebody Love You
2. Gonna Make Changes
3. Black and Blue - Barry Manilow with Phyllis Hyman Featuring Tom Scott
4. Somewhere in My Lifetime
5. In Between the Heartaches
6. Magic Mona (From the Soundtrack of "The Fish That Saved Pittsbugh")
7. Be Careful (How You Treat My Love)
8. No One Can Love You More (7" Version)
9. Betcha By Golly Wow - Norman Connors Feat. Phyllis Hyman
10. As You Are - Pharoah Sanders (Feat. Phyllis Hyman)
11. I'll Be Around - McCoy Tyner (Feat. Phyllis Hyman)
12. Just Imagine... - Norman Connors (Feat. Phyllis Hyman)
13. Sacred Kind of Love - Grover Washington, Jr. (Feat. Phyllis Hyman)
14. Love Surrounds Us Everywhere - McCoy Tyner (Feat. Phyllis Hyman)
15. In Search of My Heart - McCoy Tyner (Feat. Phyllis Hyman)
16. In a Sentimental Mood
17. I Don't Want to Lose You

Label : Soul Music Records            SMCR 5165D
Barcode :5013929086531

If you want to order this great album and live outise the Netherlands, no problem.
We shipped worldwide en paypments can be done isn $, GBP & Euro by Paypal.
Ask for the right post & shipping amount.
Send e-mail to

Verzendkosten / Post shipping : choose 1 cd.

  • Phyllis Hyman - Deliver The Love / The Anthology