Phyllis Hyman - Somewhere In My Life Time

Phyllis Hyman - Somewhere In My Life Time

  • Merk:
  • EAN code: 5013929079236

€ 17.99

The much-loved and much-missed songstress Phyllis Hyman’s debut album for Arista Records, 1979’s SOMEWHERE IN MY LIFETIME was an amalgam of six tracks from Sing A Song, her second LP for Buddah Records and four new tracks she recorded after Buddah became defunct and was bought by Arista.
With production by T. Life, her then-husband Larry Alexander and renowned songwriter Skip Scarborough and Arista labelmate Barry Manilow (responsible with Ron Dante for the title track), SOMEWHERE IN MY LIFETIME featured major players such as Onaje Allen Gumbs, Herbie Hancock, Bob Babbitt, Azar Lawrence, Monty Alexander and Will Lee. The album reached No. 15 on the U.S. R&B charts and spawned two charted singles, the title cut which became Phyllis’ first Top 20 R&B hit and a cover of pop rock group Exile’s ‘Kiss You All Over,’ a dance music/club hit.
Originally reissued in 2010 in the U.S. on CD, this new expanded edition includes the two bonus tracks featured on that reissue - a nine-minute version of ‘So Strange’ and 12”mix of ‘Kiss You All Over’ as well as the remaining three tracks left from the Sing A Song LP (‘Sweet Music,’ ‘Love Is Free’ and the title track), thus incorporating Phyllis’ long out-of-print second Buddah album in its’ entirety.
Notes by renowned U.S. writer A. Scott Galloway include quotes from producer T. Life, bassist Will Lee and pianist Monty Alexander.

Tracklist :

1: Kiss you all over 5:10
2: Somewhere in my lifetime 3:28
3: Lookin' for a lovin' 2:56
4: The answer is you 5:08
5: So strange 4:42
6: Gonna make changes 3:58
7: Living inside your love 6:15
8: Be careful (how you treat my love) 4:17
9: Soon come again 3:34
10: Here's that rainy day 3:05

Bonus tracks

11: So strange (us arista 12'' mix) 9:02
12: Kiss you all over (uk 12" single) 6:17
13: Sweet music (from lp "sing a song) 3:49
14: Love is free (from lp "sing a song) 3:46
15: Sing a song (from lp "sing a song) 3:37

Label : Soul Music Records
Cat nr. SMCR5092
Ean : 5013929079236

If you want to order this great album and live outise the Netherlands, no problem.
We shipped worldwide en paypments can be done isn $, GBP & Euro by Paypal.
Ask for the right post & shipping amount.
Send e-mail to

Ook Verkrijgbaar :

  • Phyllis Hyman - Somewhere In My Life Time