Pieces Of A Dream - Bout Dat Time

Pieces Of A Dream - Bout Dat Time

  • Merk:
  • EAN code: 5013929074231

€ 17.99

Formed in 1975 by bassist Cedric Napoleon, drummer Curtis Harmon and keyboardist James Lloyd, Pieces Of A Dream got their professional break when opening for the late sax great Grover Washington Jr. in 1980. Washington produced the trio’s first three albums for Elektra Records, in the process establishing Pieces Of A Dream as staple chart-makers on the burgeoning smooth jazz scene.

- In 1986, Pieces Of A Dream signed with EMI-Manhattan and began a three-album association with the label. Released in 1989, ‘Bout Dat Time was the group’s final set for the company and included production by new jack swing master, the late Gene Griffin (who worked with Guy, Teddy Riley, Bobby Brown and others in the ‘80s).

- In addition to the core founding members Lloyd and Harmon, ‘Bout Dat Time featured vocalist Norwood Young who sang on six tracks including the title cut which became a Top 40 U. S. R&B hit; this expanded edition includes three additional mixes of the track and is reissued by SoulMusic. com Records alongside the group’s 1995 CD "Goodbye Manhattan”.

- With its notable change of musical direction for the group - fusing hip-hop, new jack swing, R&B and smooth jazz - ‘Bout Dat Time became a Top 60 album and also spawned the Top 20 U. S. R&B hit single, ‘What Can I Do.’

- Notes by renowned U. S. writer Justin Kantor include quotes from Curtis Harmon, James Lloyd and Norwood Young.

1. 'Bout Dat Time
2. I Just Want Your Love
3. What Can I Do
4. Can't Be Alone
5. For You (Instrumental)
6. Pick Up the Pieces
7. Lonely Hearts of Love
8. Take Me Tonight
9. Kicking (Instrumental)
10. Surrender
11. 'Bout Dat Time (7" Edit)
12. 'Bout Dat Time (Extended Version)
13. 'Bout Dat Time (New York Street Mix/Remix)

Label:     SoulMusic com   
Ean:     5013929074231

  • Pieces Of A Dream - Bout Dat Time