Pieces Of A Dream - Goodbye Manhattan

Pieces Of A Dream - Goodbye Manhattan

  • Merk:
  • EAN code: 5013929074330

€ 17.99

By the time Pieces Of A Dream recorded Goodbye Manhattan, the team had already made seven albums, establishing themselves in the forefront of the smooth jazz and quiet storm movement in the U. S.

After the release of "Bout Dat Time,” their 1989 hip-hop-flavoured last album for EMI (reissued in 2012 by SoulMusic. com Records, SMCR-5042), founding members keyboardist James Lloyd and drummer Curtis Harmon took a brief hiatus from recording. In 1993, veteran executive and Blue Note Records head Bruce Lundvall brought the group back into the EMI fold with the release of "In Flight”, an album that signalled the group’s return to its jazz roots.

The reception to "In Flight” was such that the duo recorded Goodbye Manhattan, their second album for Blue Note, adding Ron Kerber on sax, Charles Baldwin on bass and Mike Antonio on keyboards. Much-acclaimed vocalist, the late Eva Cassidy added her vocal talents to the title track and ‘Have A Little Faith’ and the 1995 CD reached No. 6 on the U. S. Top Contemporary Jazz Album charts, becoming one of the group’s best sellers.

Goodbye Manhattan (which includes production by Reggie Calloway) features covers of Boz Scaggs’ ‘We’re All Alone’ and Ambrosia’s ‘How Much I Feel’ alongside several original compositions from members of the group .

1. Magens Bay
2. Bassik Instinct
3. After Dark
4. Goodbye Manhattan
5. We're All Alone
6. How Much I Feel
7. Ocean View
8. Lights Out
9. Have a Little Faith
10. Let's Get Smooth
11. Love of My Life
12. Club Jazz (Quiet Storm)

Label:     SoulMusic com    
Ean:     5013929074330

  • Pieces Of A Dream - Goodbye Manhattan