Pockets – Take It On Up

Pockets – Take It On Up

  • Merk:
  • EAN code: 5019421404026

€ 15.99

Pockets – Take It On Up.

Take It On Up is the second studio album from the group of Baltimore. Members are Al McKinney (lead vocals), Larry Jacobs, Gary Grainger, Charles C. Williams, Kevin Barnes, George Gray, Irving Madison, and Jacob R. Sheffer.

The Pockets were an eight-man group who were signed to Columbia in 1977. Their debut album was produced by Verdine White who is credited as having discovered them.

According to FunkMySoul website, the group that time, a septet had recorded some demos in 1975 at Sheffield Studios and made 200 cassettes containing top 40 covers as well as four of their originals. 
They didn’t make any real headway. 
One day Al McKinney happened to meet John Mackey of the Baltimore Colts.
Mackey happened to be Verdine White’s next-door neighbor, so the cassette tape was passed on and it apparently made an impression on White. 
White brought in Larry Jacobs from San Francisco to be the group’s lead vocalist. 
The band’s name is said to have been Luther Ingram which was a description of their music.

1 Heaven Only Knowns    3:28
2 Take It On Up    3:15
3 Tell Me Why    4:19
4 Got To Find My Way    3:45
5 Happy For Love    4:49
6 Funk It Over    3:54
7 You And Only You    3:42
8 Sphinx (Instrumental)    1:55
9 Lay Your Head (On My Shoulder)    5:43
10 In Your Eyes    2:26
11 Take It On Up (Extended 12" Mix)    5:40

Label : Expansion – EXCDM 40
Barcode : 5019421404026

If you want to order this great album and live outise the Netherlands, no problem.
We shipped worldwide en paypments can be done isn $, GBP & Euro by Paypal.
Ask for the right post & shipping amount.

Send e-mail to info@dubman.eu

Verzendkosten / Post shipping : choose 1 cd.


  • Pockets – Take It On Up