Ripple - Sons Of Gods  BBR 240

Ripple - Sons Of Gods BBR 240

  • Merk:
  • EAN code: 5013929054035

€ 17.99

• RIPPLE were an interracial R&B/Funk/Soul group that came together in Michigan, Illinois in the early 1970’s. With their radio friendly funky sound, which could evoke Kool & The Gang and Stevie Wonder, Ripple first charted in 1973 while signed to GRC Records with the groove classic “I Don’t Know What It Is, But It Sure Is Funky” which peaked at #11 R&B and #67 Pop and was featured on their eponymous debut album released in the same year.

• After hitting the upper reaches of the R&B singles chart throughout the middle of the 1970’s Ripple moved from GRC Records to the increasingly influential Salsoul Record label to record and release their second album, SONS OF THE GODS in 1977. By this time the group had developed their sound and were just as adept at laying down their trademark Funky Soulful grooves as they were introducing more Pop and Jazz elements to their repertoire.

• With Salsoul Records behind them Ripple were able to create a set of very strong dance grooves that more than stand up to the releases of many of their contemporaries of the time. The only single to be released from SONS OF THE GODS was the aptly titled “The Beat Goes On And On,” a solid funky groove that continued the groups success on the Billboard R&B singles chart peaking at #91 in March of 1978.  SONS OF THE GODS employs every element of the group to great effect with slick Afro/Latin percussion and smooth interplay between the horns, keyboards and guitar parts while lead singer Keith Samuels holds the R&B/Funk/Soul/Jazz/Disco melting pot together with his assured soulful vocals.

• Other very notable grooves on this album are the opener ‘Call Me Traveling Man’ and the funky closer ‘Do What You Gotta Do.’

• BBR is very proud to present SONS OF THE GODS, expertly re-mastered and complete with extensive liner notes and bonus track.

• SONS OF THE GODS is absolutely essential listening for all R&B, Soul, Jazz and Pop fans out there!

   1 Call Me Traveling Man 6:21
    2 Today 5:29
    3 Victorious 4:30
    4 Here I Stand 3:37
    5 The Beat Goes on and On 6:57
    6 Facts of Life 4:23
    7 Sons of the Gods 9:10
    8 Do What You Gotta Do 3:56
    Bonustrack :

    9 The Beat Goes on and On 4:34

Label : Big Break Records
CDBBR 0240
Ean : 5013929054035

If you want to order this great album and live outise the Netherlands, no problem.
We shipped worldwide en paypments can be done isn $, GBP & Euro by Paypal.
Ask for the right post & shipping amount.
Send e-mail to

  • Ripple - Sons Of Gods  BBR 240