Salsoul Orchestra - Magic Journey BBR 252

Salsoul Orchestra - Magic Journey BBR 252

  • Merk:
  • EAN code: 5013929055230

€ 999.99


•    The brainchild of once MFSB member and legendary vibraphonist, Vince Montana Jr. came THE SALSOUL ORCHESTRA.

• Formed in 1974, THE SALSOUL ORCHESTRA, house band for the remarkable Salsoul Records, sometimes featured up to 50 members amongst its ranks. This included a number of former musicians from MFSB, the house band for the Gamble & Huff fronted Philadelphia International Records, who fused elements of Funk, Latin, Disco and Philly Soul into their compositions.

• Conducted by Vincent Montana Jr., THE SALSOUL ORCHESTRA began an eight-year recording period in 1975 releasing eleven sensational albums during which time they featured production input from Tom Moulton, Stan Lucas, Patrick Adam and Bunny Sigler as well as the orchestra’s conductor.

• BBR is proud to bring you the third instalment of our Salsoul Orchestra reissues,  MAGIC JOURNEY, which climbed all the way to #61 and spent an incredible 20 weeks on the R&B album charts. Recorded at the famous Sigma Sound Studios in Philadelphia with much of the writing, arranging and production being tended to by Vince Montana Jr. himself,  MAGIC JOURNEY also features some great musicianship from legends like Bobby Eli, Ron Kersey, Norman Harris and Ron Baker to name but a few.

• Standout tracks include the hit single Run Away, which featured Loleatta Holloway on vocals and spent 6 weeks on the R&B charts peaking at #84. The track would later be revived by Masters At Work with the help of Vince Montana Jr. himself on their 1996 rendition under their Nu-Yorican Soul alias. Other notable tracks include Magic Bird Of Fire with its ominously driven beginning that gives way to an upbeat bass riff coupled with some R&B inspired piano as well as the unmistakable Salsoul groove, and Getaway, with its fusion of disco and Latin flavours.   

• This newly re-mastered, fully expanded edition comes packaged complete with extensive liner notes and added bonus content making this BBR re-master of The Salsoul Orchestra – Magic Journey a must have for all R&B, Funk, Soul, Latin, Disco, and Philly Soul fans out there!

1  Its a New Day 3:03
2  Short Shorts 3:12   
3  Runaway  4:45
4  Guantanamera     3:47  
5  Theme From the Montreal Olympics 5:17   
6  Getaway  4:20    
7  Magic Bird of Fire 5:03
8  Journey to Phoebus  4:46  
9  Alpha Centuri 5:22

Bonustrack :
10. Run Away 8:38  Danny Krivit Re-edit
11. Magic Bird of Fire 8:04  Walter Gibbons Madness Remix

Label : Big Break Records
CDBBR 0252
Ean :5013929055230

If you want to order this great album and live outise the Netherlands, no problem.
We shipped worldwide en paypments can be done isn $, GBP & Euro by Paypal.
Ask for the right post & shipping amount.
Send e-mail to

Also Available :

  • Salsoul Orchestra - Magic Journey BBR 252