Shalamar - Friends 2- cd De Luxe CDBBRXD0200

Shalamar - Friends 2- cd De Luxe BBRXD0200

  • Merk:
  • EAN code: 5013929050044

€ 999.99


Shalamar’s Friends was one of the biggest and most celebrated classic
soul albums of the 1980s. BBR is proud to present the first ever deluxe
edition of the album.

Shalamar was formed in 1977 by Dick Griffey, the booking agent for the
legendary R&B TV show Soul Train, and British music producer, Simon
Soussan. Initially they used faceless session musicians but when their
first single, ‘Uptown Medley’ (R&B #10 / Pop #25) found chart success
Griffey created a permanent group. After ‘Take That To The Bank’ (US
R&B #11 / Pop #79) Shalamar’s classic line-up of Jody Watley, Jeffrey
Daniel and Howard Hewitt continued to have chart success on both sides
of the Atlantic with infectious pop-soul cuts like ‘The Second Time
Around’ (US R&B #1 / Pop #8) and ‘Make That Move’ (US R&B #6 / Pop
#60) all released on Griffey’s Solar imprint.

 In 1982 the group released their seventh studio album FRIENDS, which
enhanced on the soul groove sound that had brought the group previous
success. The opening track and lead US single from the album ‘A Night To
Remember’ (US R&B #8 / Pop #44) became an instant R&B classic. The
second single in the US was the album closer ‘I Can Make You Feel Good’
(US R&B #33 / Pop #102), another classic mid-tempo R&B dancer that
does exactly as it suggests.

FRIENDS enjoyed massive popularity and unprecedented chart success in
the UK, becoming one of the biggest selling alums of the year. FRIENDS
peaked at #6 on the UK album chart during an incredible 72-week run.
The four singles for the UK market, ‘I Can Make You Feel Good’, ‘A Night
To Remember’, ‘There It Is’ and ‘Friends’ reached #7, #5, #5 and #12
respectively on the UK singles chart helping Shalamar retain huge
popularity to this day. Jeffrey Daniel introduced body popping and the
back slide (later renamed the moon walk by Daniel’s student, Michael
Jackson) to UK TV audiences on Top Of The Pops in July of 1982 when
promoting ‘A Night to Remember’.

BBR is very proud to bring you FRIENDS, completely re-mastered and
repackaged complete with extensive liner notes and extended bonus
content including a new interview with Jody Watley and a second disc of
alternative versions from the US and UK single releases.
must have for all R&B, SOUL, 80s POP and DISCO fans out there!

Disc: 1  

1. A Night To Remember  5:13
2. Don't Try To Change Me  4:12
3. Help Me  5:13
4. On Top Of The World  4:09
5. I Don't Want To Be The Last To Know  4:01
6. Friends  5:02
7. Playing To Win  4:27
8. I Just Stopped By Because I Had Too  4:11
9. There It Is  4:29
10. I Can Make You Feel Good  4:22

Bonus Tracks from  FRIENDS session :

11. Talk To Me  6:13
12. Good Feelings  4:18
13. Sweeter As The Days Go By  3:46

Disc: 2  

1. A Night To Remember (1986 12 Inch M&M Remix)  8:57
2. There It Is (1986 M&M Instrumental Remix)   5:33
3. Friends (Extended Version)  7:28
4. I Can Make You Feel Good (UK 7 Inch Version)  3:42
5. A Night To Remember (UK 7 Inch Version)  3:32
6. There It Is (Single Version)  3:3
7. Help Me (Single Version)  3:38
8. Friends (Single Inch Version)  3:14
9. A Night To Remember (UK 12 Inch Remix)   5:2
10. There It Is (Extended Version)  6:22
11. Mega Mix  7:39
     A) A Night To Remember
     B) There It Is  
     C) Over And Over
     D) A Night To Remember
     E) I Can Make You Feel Good
     F) I Owe You One G) A Night To Remember  
12. A Night To Remember (12 Inch M&M instrumental Mix)  4:22

Label : Big Break Records
Ean : 5013929050044

If you want to order this great album and live outise the Netherlands, no problem.
We shipped worldwide en paypments can be done isn $, GBP & Euro by Paypal.
Ask for the right post & shipping amount.
Send e-mail to

  • Shalamar - Friends 2- cd De Luxe CDBBRXD0200