Teena Marie - Starchild  - Expanded Edition

Teena Marie - Starchild - Expanded Edition

  • Merk:
  • EAN code: 5013929074934

€ 17.99

The late, great TEENA MARIE had established herself as a consistent hitmaker among black music audiences in the US as a result of five albums for Motown and her 1983 Epic debut set ROBBERY (reissued by SoulMusic Records in 2012 as an expanded edition, SMCR-5048).

With the release of 1984’s STARCHILD (which became a US Top 10 R&B and pop Top 40 best-seller), the L. A. native finally achieved mainstream international pop success thanks to the classic single, ‘Lovergirl,’ which reached No. 4 on Billboard’s Hot 100 chart and became the biggest hit of the multi-talented singer, songwriter, producer and musician’s amazing three-decade-long career.

For the sessions, Teena assembled an all-star cast of musicians and singers that included Leon Ware, Narada Michael Walden, Ronnie McNeir, Billy Griffin, Nathan East, Preston Glass, James Jamerson Jr. and Paulinho Da Costa.

As with its predecessor Robbery, Teena wrote or co-wrote all nine tracks on the album including the standouts ‘Out On A Limb,’ the club hit ‘Jammin’,’ and her soulful tribute to the late Marvin Gaye, ‘My Dear Mr. Gaye.’ This expanded edition of STARCHILD features five bonus tracks including a six-minute-plus instrumental of ‘Lovergirl’ (making its CD debut) and an eight-minute dance mix of ‘Jammin.’

    1 Lovergirl 4:50
    2 Help youngblood get to the freaky party 5:42
    3 Out on a limb 6:36
    4 Alibi 5:23
    5 Jammin' 5:46
    6 Starchild 5:34
    7 We've got to stop (meeting like this) 5:05
    8 My dear mr. gaye 5:24
    9 Light 1:15

Bonus tracks

    10 Lovergirl (us 7" single) 3:59
    11 Lovergirl (us special 12" dance mix) 5:53
    12 Lovergirl (us single - instrumental) 6:10
    13 Jammin' (dance mix - long version) 8:20
    14 Out on a limb (us 12"single edit) 5:31

Label : Smcr.
Ean : 5013929074934


  • Teena Marie - Starchild  - Expanded Edition