Vivian Reed - Yours Until Tomorrow (Tye Epic Years)

Vivian Reed - Yours Until Tomorrow (The Epic Years)

  • Merk:
  • EAN code: 5013929084735

van € 14.99
voor € 9.99

Vivian Reed - Yours Until Tomorrow.

• SoulMusic Records is very proud to present “Yours Until Tomorrow: The Epic Years,” a first-ever compilation of all of the recordings by renowned entertainer Vivian Reed, cut between 1968-1971 for Epic Records.  Included is Vivian’s sole self-titled Epic LP, along with seven non-album tracks issued as ‘A’ and ‘B’ sides of singles issued both before and after the album’s release in 1968.  

• Pittsburgh-born Vivian, who studied at the famed Juilliard School Of Music in New York, began her performing career singing at local clubs in Manhattan before coming under the wings of the owners of the renowned Apollo Theatre in Harlem, leading to a contract with CBS Records.  

• Working initially with Epic staff producer Ted Cooper, Vivian cut a total of fourteen tracks, with a dazzling range of material from soulful cuts such as ‘Yours Until Tomorrow’ (a US Top 50 R&B charted single) and a powerhouse medley of two Righteous Brothers’ hits, ‘You’ve Lost That Loving Feeling’ and ‘(You’re My) Soul And Inspiration’ alongside show tunes and standards of the day such as ‘Somewhere’ and ‘I’ve Gotta Be Me.’

• Further singles with country producer Billy Sherrill, Van McCoy & Joe Cobb (which yielded the original version of ‘Lean On Me,’ a few years later an R&B hit for Melba Moore) and Richard Perry (including a funky version of Carole King’s ‘I Feel The Earth Move’) followed before Vivian left Epic and after a short stint with Atco, starred in the Broadway musical “Bubbling Brown Sugar.”

• A dynamic and popular live performer, Vivian contributed quotes to a stellar essay by Justin Kantor while Dr. Jason King (creator of Company Freak with whom she has worked) has penned a personal tribute for this reissue, remastered from original Epic tapes by Nick Robbins.

1 Baby Baby (I'll Be Your Woman Till I Die) 2:57
2 I  2:34
3 Yours Until Tomorrow 3:07
4 I Wanna Be Free 2:32
5 Look the Other Way 2:26
6 Down Here on the Ground 2:11
7 You've Lost That Lovin' Feeling / (You're My) Soul and Inspiration 3:17
8 Harper Valley P.T.A 3:05
9 Walk on My Side 2:20
10 Let's Fall in Love All Over 2:53
11 The Shape of Things to Come (From Columbia Pictures' "Wild in the Streets") 2:22
12 I've Gotta Be Me 2:49
13 Somewhere (From "West Side Story") 2:52
14 Mama Open the Door 3:42
15 Then I'll Be Over You 2:43
16 Unbelievable 2:43
17 Lean on Me 2:42
18 Missing You 2:40
19 I Feel the Earth Move 2:30
20 Don't Close the Door on Me 2:01

Label : Soul Music Records
        SMCR 5147
Barcode : 5013929084735

If you want to order this great album and live outise the Netherlands, no problem.
We shipped worldwide en paypments can be done isn $, GBP & Euro by Paypal.
Ask for the right post & shipping amount.
Send e-mail to

Verzendkosten / Post shipping : choose 1 cd.

  • Vivian Reed - Yours Until Tomorrow (Tye Epic Years)