Wonderland – The Spirit Of Earth Wind & Fire

Wonderland – The Spirit Of Earth Wind & Fire

  • Merk:
  • EAN code: 5019421265405

van € 17.99
voor € 9.99

 The extraordinary journey of Earth, Wind & Fire begins with Maurice White in Chicago in 1970 and continues through to this day. Along the way these musical giants took their unique blend of soul and jazz to the highest levels of creativity and pop success. In 1969 Maurice White founded The Salty Peppers ahead of relocation to Los Angels, California and a name change to Earth, Wind & Fire. Maurice re-configured the group in 1972 making the nucleus himself, brother Verdine White, Philip Bailey, Larry Dunn, Al McKay, Ralph Johnson, and began building a horn section around Andrew Woolfolk, Don Myrick, Louis Satterfield, Rahmlee Davis, Michael Harris, and George Bohanon.

These are the musicians who created a sound like no other and a style Maurice White would bring to other artists looking to share in its glory. He formed Kalimba Productions and it’s music from those sessions that formed the idea for this collection – songs, musical or vocal contributions, and productions by members of Earth Wind & Fire in the spirit of Earth, Wind & Fire outside of the group themselves. The Kalimba artists include The Emotions (with whom EW&F collaborated with on “Boogie Wonderland”, inspiring the title of this compilation), Pockets, Deniece Williams, and Ramsey Lewis.

Other inclusions are “Tequila Mockingbird”, a Larry Dunn creation recorded here by Dee Dee Bridgewater (Ramsey Lewis also recorded this); “Glow Love” by gospel group The Mighty Clouds Of Joy (The original CD sells on eBay for upwards of £100); “Answer To My Prayer” (first time on CD) composed by EW&F hit songwriter Skip Scarborough (whose jazz work out “Theme For Relana” is also included here); “Lover’s Touch”, a rare Chaka Khan recording not on any of her albums (composed by Beloyd Taylor who sang with EW&F on their “I Am” album and co-wrote “Getaway” for the group); and music by jazz fusion artists Ronnie Laws (an original player with EW&F), bass man Abraham Laboriel (featuring Philip Bailey), Paulinho Da Costa, Flora Purim; and soul groups Stargard, Blue Magic, and Tavares.

Tequila Mockingbird – Dee Dee Bridgewater 4:01
Got To Find My Way – Pockets 3:43
The Boy I Left Behind – Deniece Williams 3:32
Glow Love – Mighty Clouds Of Joy 2:54
Let Love Groove Me – Sylvia St. James 3:33
Love Uprising – Tavares 3:28
Answer To My Prayer – Alton McClain & Destiny 3:29
Let’s Get Together – Paulinho Da Costa 5:40
Dancin’ – Grey & Hanks 3:01
Angels – Flora Purim 3:33
All For You – Ronnie Laws 3:03
Never Be Another Moment – The Emotions 4:32
Sun Goddess – Ramsey Lewis 3:07
City Lights – Valerie Carter 3:14
Ancient Source – Caldera 3:14
And I Do – Abraham Laboriel feat. Philip Bailey 5:15
Lover’s Touch – Chaka Khan 4:30
I Waited – Blue Magic 3:24
Dream Come True – Stargard 4:37
Theme for Relana – Gene Harris 6:32

Label : Expansion Records
Cat.  CDEXP40
Ean :   5019421265405

If you want to order this great album and live outise the Netherlands, no problem.
We shipped worldwide en paypments can be done isn $, GBP & Euro by Paypal.
Ask for the right post & shipping amount.
Send e-mail to info@dubman.eu

  • Wonderland – The Spirit Of Earth Wind & Fire